## RESOLUTION OF THE VILLAGE AND TOWN OF NEW PALTZ IN SUPPORT OF ULSTER COUNTY RESOLUTION NO.228 CALLING FOR A ONE-YEAR EXTENSION OF THE CURRENT SALES TAX SHARING DISTRIBUTION AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE COUNTY OF ULSTER AND THE CITY OF KINGSTON

- **WHEREAS,** Ulster County and the City of Kingston will be in negotiations regarding an agreement pertaining to sales tax distribution to commence in 2021; and
- WHEREAS, said contract typically remains in place for five years, with the last agreement being approved pursuant to Resolution No. 280 dated May 17, 2016; and
- WHEREAS, this agreement has seen little change in decades despite several innovations implemented in other New York Counties that warrant exploration; and
- WHEREAS, we are currently experiencing the COVID-19 pandemic forcing our County to be on the mandated New York PAUSE for several months resulting in considerable loss in revenue from sales tax as well as other revenue for a total impact that is current immeasurable, and as a result consideration of innovations in the distribution and utilization of sales tax revenues are inappropriate at this juncture; now, therefore be it
- **THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Town and Village Boards of New Paltz fully support **ULSTER COUNTY RESOLUTION NO.228** which proposes a one year contract agreement or one year extension of the current sales tax sharing distribution agreement, thus allowing time to understand and/or potentially recover from the economic implications of the pandemic and to identify possible innovative uses for this revenue.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Village Clerk is directed to send a copy of this resolution to U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, U.S. Senator Charles Schumer, U.S. Congressman Antonio Delgado, Governor Andrew Cuomo, State Senator Jen Metzger, State Assemblyman Kevin Cahill, NYS Senate Majority Leader Andrea Stewart Cousins, NYS Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie, County Executive Patrick Ryan, City of Kingston Mayor Steve Noble, Ulster County Legislative Chair David Donalson, Ulster County Legislator Eve Walter, and Ulster County Legislator James Delaune.